Call for 2015 NWT Fire Service Merit Award Nominees

Sep 1 2015

YELLOWKNIFE (September 1, 2015) – The Department of Municipal and Community Affairs (MACA) is seeking nominations for the NWT Fire Service Merit Awards.

Based on nominations from community members, fire departments and fire chiefs, the NWT Fire Service Merit Awards honour and recognize individuals and community fire departments for their significant contributions to fire safety and fire service in communities across the Northwest Territories (NWT).

“Firefighters provide an essential service in protecting the lives and properties of people across the NWT,” said the Honourable Robert C. McLeod, Minister of Municipal and Community Affairs. “Those awards help us recognize the valuable work these individuals and groups do in our communities.”

Individuals or community fire departments can be nominated by members of the public. You can nominate online at, by contacting your local Assistant Fire Marshal, or by downloading a printable form also available on the website.

The deadline for nominations is September 25, 2015.

Recipients of the NWT Fire Service Merit Awards will be announced during National Fire Prevention Week, October 4-10, 2015.

For more information, contact:

David Maguire
Communications and Website Advisor
Municipal and Community Affairs
Government of the Northwest Territories
Phone: (867) 920-3092